Legibility: The New EP Series from Avvenir

Friends: I'm excited to announce the first Safety Records release of 2018, Legibility I from Avvenir. This is the first of six EPs I'll be launching from the series, all featuring outtakes from the Glyphs, Natural Language, and Comms sessions. 

Since 2015 I've released three full-length LPs, and have been moving so fast that I haven't really stopped to take stock of everything I've created. Early this year, however, I spent some time listening back on the full set of demos from these sessions—I have a lot of them, 207 to be exact—and came to the conclusion that lots of those tracks are worth releasing.

So here we are. Thru mid-August I'll be focusing on releasing alternates and also-rans while taking the year to finish LPs four and five (those albums are both half finished by-the-way, and they're going to be a bit of a departure). Legibility I thru VI will present these older tracks in rough chronological order, starting with songs from the Glyphs sessions, so you'll get to hear how the project has changed over time.

As always, I hope you enjoy these tracks, and if you like them, then be sure to follow Avvenir on Spotify and share with friends! 

Joel / Safety


Stay Safe: A Free Safety Records Comp


Back in July when I had a booth at the Pitchfork Fest record fair, I made a free comp to give out to festival goers. I'm now releasing that compilation to the public.

Stay Safe, a 10-song download featuring tracks by City States, Avvenir, Contretemps, and Modal Voices, is now available for free.


And if you like what you hear, be sure to purchase a record or sign up for our mailing list via the form on the right side of the screen.


Glyphs, the Debut LP by Avvenir

Safety Records continues its busy year with another debut full-length release for 2015: Glyphs by Avvenir, an experimental techno project for fans of Autechre, Aphex Twin, and Plaid.

01. Magenta
02. Sonnen
03. International Style
04. PostScript
05. Univers
06. Prepress
08. Émigré
09. Late Modern
10. Für Immer

Glyphs will be available for digital download and streaming on Friday October 30. More details and a music video premiere will be available soon, so stay tuned.

Joel / Safety

Avvenir's Debut Single: Linotype

Safety Records' busy year continues with yet another new project, Avvenir!

I've spent the last 12 months writing lots of songs outside of my flagship band, City States, and the results have evolved into not one, not two, but three additional strains of music. Avvenir is the last of these new endeavors (the first two being Contretemps and Modal Voices), and I'm really excited to finally debut the first single, "Linotype."

Inspired by Autechre, Plaid, Conversation-era Cabaret Voltaire, and Aphex Twin, this project has me paying tribute to 90's and early 21st-century experimental techno with fractured electronic beats, sideways synth melodies, and shards of digital noise.

Download the new Avvenir single, "Linotype."

This two-track single is just the start, as I have an EP and a full-length LP coming from Avvenir before the end of 2015. In the meantime, enjoy these new songs, and if you want to stay up to speed on forthcoming music be sure to sign up for the Safety Records mailing list.

Joel / City States

Contretemps – Pronouncement

I'm super excited to announce the first Safety release of 2015, Pronouncement, an album by a new project called Contretemps. The first of several instrumental electronic projects I've been working on, this one is by far the most adventurous, a clear departure from the last 6 years of melodic pop I've channeled as City States.

If you're a fan of Oneohtrix Point Never, Aphex Twin's Selected Ambient Works II, Merzbow, or Fennesz, you'll probably enjoy it. Here's a track from the album, "Telemusik."

Available March 24th on high-quality MP3. Tracklist:
01. Maximalism
02. O'Hare
03. Noé
04. Dear Masami
05. Borderless Regions
06. Zoviet Synths
07. Midway
08. Telemusik
09. An Impasse
10. Tyranny of the Beat

A few months back I wrote a bit about the making of Pronouncement in a post on the City States blog; I'm going to elaborate on that a little more in the coming weeks, but for now, enjoy the new track (and let me know what you think!)



Our New Site!

Hey Friends:

Welcome to the new Safety Records website! I've mostly kept the visibility of the this new label under wraps in the last year (after all, Safety does only have one release under its belt, City States' debut album, Geography), but now that I'm gearing up to put more music out into the world, it seems like the right time to make this endeavor more official.

2015 is going to be a busy year for me: I'm working on three albums right now, and though I can only guarantee the release of two, I'm hoping to finish everything I've been writing before December. Fingers crossed.

Fans of my work as City States may be surprised, as well—I'm mostly focusing on instrumental electronic music via two other projects called Contretemps and Modal Voices, and the results are fairly out there. I'm going to write about the forthcoming Contretemps record in a subsequent post, but if you'd like to hear some samples of what I've been up to, head over to the Listen page.

And while you're at it, sign up for our mailing list to the right of this page. Tell your friends, too.

Thanks for reading,

Joel / Safety Records